Friday, September 11, 2015

Year 4 (UNIT 9 - Our Solar Systems)

Our solar system is made up of A star, the sun, 8 planets, 146 moons, a bunch of comets, asteroids and space rocks, ice and several dwarf planets, such as Pluto. The 8 planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

Everything in the Solar System orbits or revolves around the Sun. The Sun contains around 98% of all the material in the Solar System. The larger an object is, the more gravity it has. Because the Sun is so large, its powerful gravity attracts all the other objects in the Solar System towards it. At the same time, these objects, which are moving very rapidly, try to fly away from the Sun, outward into the emptiness of outer space. The result of the planets trying to fly away, at the same time that the Sun is trying to pull them inward is that they become trapped half-way in between. Balanced between flying towards the Sun, and escaping into space, they spend eternity orbiting around their parent star.

The Solar System


Fun Fact About Our Solar System !!

Let's do some quiz and exercises to see how far you understand today's topic.

Exercise 1

Exercise 2 ( Name the planets )

" Try this quiz "      ✌ click me ✌